Pop-Punk Goes Disney

So there have been some rumors floating around the Internet (okay tumblr) lately about an upcoming pop-punk compilation….of Disney songs. I took this with a few (heaping) grains of salt until tonight. Tumblr user Ashley recently posted a song (listen to it below) and some major major hints about some bands that are going to be on the compilation. Hints have been dropped to Transit, La Dispute, Man Overboard and The Story So Far. I will be the first to admit that I love Disney, a lot. No joke. I love Disney, hate on it. I also love pop-punk. This is amazing.

Expect the compilation to be out sometime this Summer and keep an eye on that dudes tumblr (and here). I’ll post updates when I have them.

I’m giving this song Single Of The Week status: Calls Landing covering I Just Can’t Wait To Be King from The Lion King. Check them out here

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

UPDATE: One of my tumblr followers (follow him here) sent me a list of seven possible songs from various hints that Ashey has dropped, they are below

  • “A Whole New World” (Aladdin) – Man Overboard,
  • “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” (Mulan) – Transit,
  • “I Can Go The Distance” (Hercules) – A Loss for Words,
  • “Kiss De Girl” (Little Mermaid) – Crucial Dudes,
  • “I Just Can’t Wait to be King” (Lion King) – Calls Landing,
  • Unknown Nightmare Before Christmas song – La Dispute,
  • Unknown Aristocats song – Major League


Transit Releases New Song/Video

Transit just put up a new song, “Long Lost Friends”, and a video of them playing the song in their Danvers, MA recording space. Definitely digging their new direction in sound and definitely think this’ll go down as one of my favorite Transit songs. The video can be found here via Rise Records’s Youtube page and the album drops October 4th.

And the video has a yellow Teletubbie roaming around in it, so it’s definitely worth the watch.

Glad to see that this was posted. I give Tim props for beating me to it, the video is below – Ethan

You know what you need to do? You need to put this song on repeat and then go see Transit and lose your shit when you see them live. I miss these dudes like nothing else.


Single of the Week – The Vaccines

It’s been a few years now since surf rock and chillwave (my personal list topper for “worst genre name of all time”) have become a mainstay in the hearts of indie kids, Pitchfork readers and casual music fans alike. Vampire Weekend burst out in 2008 with a debut record determined to be the soundtrack to your imaginary beach house on Cape Cod. Acts like Wavves and Best Coast took it a step further in 2009, combining surf pop with the fuzziness of shoegaze. And in 2010, artists like Washed Out brought chillwave into the world with even fuzzier vocals and ethereal sounds and beats lost at the bottom of your pool. The Vaccines aren’t bringing anything too revolutionary to the mix with their debut record other than ongoing fun and music demanding night drives and beach trips. But, seriously, isn’t that all that’s needed for summer music? Their album, perfectly titled What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?, lays out punky pop jams at Tokyo Police Club speeds with competing wit and catching hooks. Try getting the chorus of “If You Wanna” out of your head on first listen. It’s impossible and you’re gonna be humming it for a week or two. One of the album’s best songs happens to be the shortest, clocking in at a minute and thirty eight seconds. “Norgaard” is a 50s beach dance party in a song, coming with jangly guitars and singer Justin Young commanding with a Morrissey-esque swagger and sense of self-deprecation. The video adds to the good time as the band cavorts with an incredibly beautiful model. What can you expect from The Vaccines? If the album and videos are any indication, a really boisterously good time.

“Norgaard” by The Vaccines

Single of The Week – m83

Synthy music has practically always been in my blood. As some dads threw Springsteen and Led Zeppelin at their kids, my dad chose to bring me up with the likes of Styx, Journey, ELO and various other ’80s arena rock worship. With the synths swirling around on Styx’s “Come Sail Away” and the arena rock quality of Journey so massive, your body is virtually forced to go on autopilot fistpumping, I was prepared at a young age to assume all music was meant to sound big and nerdy. Thankfully, for dorks such as myself, m83 exists. Taking constant hints from the ’80s, he’s mastered electronic music to not only connect with mainstream audiences, but to add enough teen emotion and angst to make John Hughes weep tears of joy. His new single, “Midnight City”, was released today along with the announcement of his double album, Hurry Up We’re Dreaming, coming out on October 18th. If this single is any indication, we have around three months until the best record of 2011 conquers the world.

M83 – Midnight City


A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.